Weeks 6 & 7 – Passed the Midpoint

The past 2 weeks have been a blend of condensed schoolwork and a vacation.

As previously mentioned in multiple posts, the course that I was looking forward to the most during this exchange program at IPADE was the sales force management workshop.

The workshop was an introduction to both sales force and channel management and the topics were covered via case method. Although the class was condensed into 4 days which consisted of 3 classes a day followed by an exam on the 5th day, the class was by far my favorite in this exchange program. The professor was very charismatic and was able to entertain the entire class while delivering a very large amount of knowledge. Each class covered a case and a technical note which summed up to 3 cases and 3 technical notes to be read after every full day of classes. The material was really interesting and everyone was excited to read the cases and technical notes and to discuss them during the team working sessions before class. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in taking an elective class at IPADE in the future.

One of the advantages of taking elective classes at IPADE and of the exchange program here is that the course load changes on a weekly basis depending on the classes. In my case, that meant that I had no classes all of last week and so I planned a trip to the Yucatan Peninsula for 9 days. I left Mexico City on Friday after the sales force management final exam and spent the weekend in Playa Del Carmen and the following week in Akumal where I visited Tulum, Chichen Itza, Valladolid, and Cozumel.

On this trip I had the great opportunity to discover more of this beautiful country and its culture.

I visited the beautiful and well preserved Mayan ruins of Tulum and Chichen Itza, where the tour guides gave me a better view of the culture and civilization.

IMG_0660

Chichen Itza’s El Castillo, one of the New Sever Wonders of the World

IMG_0630

IMG_0544

Mayan Ruins of Tulum

I walked around in beautiful Valladolid which is one of the “Magical Villages” in Mexico (“El Programa Pueblos Mágicos”). This city, dating back from the colonial era, is full of culture, history, and natural beauty.

IMG_0714

Walking around in Valladolid

I went snorkeling with sea turtles in Akumal.

The Yucatan Peninsula is full of fresh water springs also known as Cenotes. Cenotes are a very big attraction for divers as some of them are accessed through under water caves and some lead directly into the ocean through underground natural passages. My friends and I chose to go snorkeling in an outdoor cenote close to Tulum.

IMG_0750

Casa Cenote

I also went snorkeling in Cozumel to see the second largest coral reef in the world that is part of the Cozumel National Park. The water was so clear I was able to take great underwater pictures in this beautiful place!

I am only one month away from the end of this amazing adventure in this beautiful country. It has been a great ride so far and I hope to take advantage of every day I still have here with my classmates and new friends. This coming week will be my last week of classes followed by an International Week and then final exams. During International Week, IPADE hosts students from many schools abroad to discuss the process of doing business in Mexico and includes company visits and conferences. I am excited to have some classmates from GWSB join me in Mexico City during International Week for their short term study abroad. I am also excited for all the opportunities available during my last month here.

This entry was posted in IPADE Business School, Mexico. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

